Kick Off!

Hello World!

This is the first post on my newest blog dedicated to the “beautiful game” of football, otherwise known as soccer and all its fans all over the world.

I hope to build this up from the ground-up, bit by bit from today, all through the next 12 months running in tandem with the excitement of the build up and climaxing at the FIFA World Cup in South Africa next year.

Although I remember being involved in the friendly neighbourhood kickabout when I was 7 or 8, I only got really hooked after “accidentally” watching the recorded telecast of the 1972 English F.A. Cup Final between Leeds and Arsenal on our black and white tv. Something clicked. It was like being transported into another world. Almost magical. I got hooked on Leeds United too, presumably because of their all-white strip that looked so majestic – even on the monochrome tv. They became the first club I supported. But more of that later.

For now, in a little way, I’d just like to do justice to all that football holds dear and to all who are involved in the game in one way or another.

Till the next time then, I bid you welcome and hope you too enjoy the ride!

Kick Off!

Leave a Reply

